06
Jan
08

How we fell in love with Sparky

My co-worker Scott brought in these photos of the four puppies that needed homes (see the “About Sparky” page for the full story of Sparky’s origins).

sparky9wks2

sparky9wks

Half Pekingese, half chihuahua. Two were brown, two were black. Two were long-haired, two were short-haired. I fell in love with the long-haired brown puppy, but knew I couldn’t handle any more animals myself. Besides, I’m a big-dog type of person. Then, like a message from baby Jesus, I was struck with an idea:

Maybe it was time for my parents to get a pet!

Our beloved German Shepherd Harley had to be put to sleep two years ago this December. She had lived to be 13, and was truly the best dog ever. But her bad hips finally did her in.

DSC02440

Harley, summer 2005, age 13. We miss you girl!

Since then, my parents (especially my mother, who doesn’t like animals much) said they traveled too much to have a dog again. However, I suspected that my father missed having a dog around. Not only did both of my parents love Harley, but my dad especially loved our mildly retarded pekingese/?? mix Buckwheat (aka Pepper). Buckwheat had passed away several years before.

dadbuckwheat

Dad and Buckwheat, circa ~ 1991

So I called my mother and jokingly acted like I already bought a puppy, just to see her reaction. I said, “Guess what I got Dad for Christmas? A PUPPY!” Instead of being mad, she actually warmed to the idea very quickly and said it would be nice to have a dog around the house again. I about “fell out,” as they say on Jerry Springer. Next I called my dad, and surprisingly he didn’t like the puppy idea. He didn’t even believe me when I said that mom liked the idea.

By the next day they had warmed to the idea. I think they were sold when the above puppy pictures of Sparky hit their inbox! I was told that if I met the puppy and liked him, that I could get it for my dad for Christmas. (I live in Colorado and they live 8 hours away in Kansas, so they couldn’t meet him themselves.)

Scott would not have snuck him into work for me to meet him, because that would be against the rules. So it didn’t happen. These pictures of him being held by a co-worker are obviously photoshopped. 😉

110107_09581

110107_09582

I think my parents were even more in love with him when they got these photos. Arrangements were made; in a week, I’d pick up Sparky and keep him overnight, and would deliver him the next day to my parents at a rendezvous point in Kansas.

But what to call the new puppy?

3 Responses to “How we fell in love with Sparky”


  1. 1 natalya
    November 18, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    so cute pictures sprky i love you

  2. February 2, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    What exactly honestly moved you to post “How we fell
    in love with Sparky The Sparky Chronicles”?

    I personallycertainly liked it! Thanks for the post -Zelma

  3. March 2, 2013 at 3:00 am

    This blog, “How we fell in love with Sparky | The Sparky Chronicles” http://gencomnla.
    org was very good. I’m making out a replica to show my personal close friends.
    Many thanks-Myrtis


Leave a Reply

About this site

This blog is to tell the story of one of the cutest puppies in the world - Sparky - and all of his people and animal friends. He was a gift from me to my parents. You can read the background scoop on Sparky here. Visit often to see Sparky's most recent photos!

Archives

Clickin’ Around

Moose's Dogster Page

Blog Stats

  • 11,416 hits

